Azure VPN Connection Modified or Deleted

Identifies when a VPN connection is modified or deleted.

Sigma rule (View on GitHub)

 1title: Azure VPN Connection Modified or Deleted
 2id: 61171ffc-d79c-4ae5-8e10-9323dba19cd3
 3status: test
 4description: Identifies when a VPN connection is modified or deleted.
 5references:
 6    - https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/role-based-access-control/resource-provider-operations
 7author: Austin Songer @austinsonger
 8date: 2021/08/08
 9modified: 2022/08/23
10tags:
11    - attack.impact
12logsource:
13    product: azure
14    service: activitylogs
15detection:
16    selection:
17        operationName:
18            - MICROSOFT.NETWORK/VPNGATEWAYS/VPNCONNECTIONS/WRITE
19            - MICROSOFT.NETWORK/VPNGATEWAYS/VPNCONNECTIONS/DELETE
20    condition: selection
21falsepositives:
22    - VPN Connection being modified or deleted may be performed by a system administrator. Verify whether the user identity, user agent, and/or hostname should be making changes in your environment.
23    - VPN Connection modified or deleted from unfamiliar users should be investigated. If known behavior is causing false positives, it can be exempted from the rule.
24level: medium

References

Related rules

to-top