Azure Virtual Network Modified or Deleted

Identifies when a Virtual Network is modified or deleted in Azure.

Sigma rule (View on GitHub)

 1title: Azure Virtual Network Modified or Deleted
 2id: bcfcc962-0e4a-4fd9-84bb-a833e672df3f
 3status: test
 4description: Identifies when a Virtual Network is modified or deleted in Azure.
 5references:
 6    - https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/role-based-access-control/resource-provider-operations
 7author: Austin Songer @austinsonger
 8date: 2021/08/08
 9modified: 2022/08/23
10tags:
11    - attack.impact
12logsource:
13    product: azure
14    service: activitylogs
15detection:
16    selection:
17        operationName|startswith:
18            - MICROSOFT.NETWORK/VIRTUALNETWORKGATEWAYS/
19            - MICROSOFT.NETWORK/VIRTUALNETWORKS/
20        operationName|endswith:
21            - /WRITE
22            - /DELETE
23    condition: selection
24falsepositives:
25    - Virtual Network being modified or deleted may be performed by a system administrator. Verify whether the user identity, user agent, and/or hostname should be making changes in your environment.
26    - Virtual Network modified or deleted from unfamiliar users should be investigated. If known behavior is causing false positives, it can be exempted from the rule.
27level: medium

References

Related rules

to-top