Azure Network Security Configuration Modified or Deleted

Identifies when a network security configuration is modified or deleted.

Sigma rule (View on GitHub)

 1title: Azure Network Security Configuration Modified or Deleted
 2id: d22b4df4-5a67-4859-a578-8c9a0b5af9df
 3status: test
 4description: Identifies when a network security configuration is modified or deleted.
 5references:
 6    - https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/role-based-access-control/resource-provider-operations
 7author: Austin Songer @austinsonger
 8date: 2021/08/08
 9modified: 2022/08/23
10tags:
11    - attack.impact
12logsource:
13    product: azure
14    service: activitylogs
15detection:
16    selection:
17        operationName:
18            - MICROSOFT.NETWORK/NETWORKSECURITYGROUPS/WRITE
19            - MICROSOFT.NETWORK/NETWORKSECURITYGROUPS/DELETE
20            - MICROSOFT.NETWORK/NETWORKSECURITYGROUPS/SECURITYRULES/WRITE
21            - MICROSOFT.NETWORK/NETWORKSECURITYGROUPS/SECURITYRULES/DELETE
22            - MICROSOFT.NETWORK/NETWORKSECURITYGROUPS/JOIN/ACTION
23            - MICROSOFT.NETWORK/NETWORKSECURITYGROUPS/PROVIDERS/MICROSOFT.INSIGHTS/DIAGNOSTICSETTINGS/WRITE
24    condition: selection
25falsepositives:
26    - Network Security Configuration being modified or deleted may be performed by a system administrator. Verify whether the user identity, user agent, and/or hostname should be making changes in your environment.
27    - Network Security Configuration modified or deleted from unfamiliar users should be investigated. If known behavior is causing false positives, it can be exempted from the rule.
28level: medium

References

Related rules

to-top